Why Green is my New Favourite Colour- Sorry Aerosmith

 As with every human being, evolving from squirmy amoeba to fully fledged adult, I have gone through “phases”

  •  The Pink period: Growing up as a female, parents are duty bound by society to dress you in pink and buy you barbie dolls to ensure that you are comfortable with growing into your feminine expectations.
  • The Tomboy period: During my primary school career I was constantly receiving hidings and detentions for having a dirty school dress and face and nails as I would spend my break times sliding down the muddy embankments having competitions who could make it the fastest with my mates.
  • The rebel period: In high school, I came to the realisation that every group of friends kind of get grouped together into a stereotype. Think jocks, cheerleaders, library nerds. I made a conscious decision to reject all stereotypes and just be me.

  • The goth period: Ironically, I became a stereotype. I went through my “black phase” and was following the perceived lifestyle of a goth. Moody, angry, deep, pensive and looking for the shock factor
  • The Splash period: I studied Fine Art at University and went through a phase of having my brain crow-barred open and creativity spraying out the gaping hole at the top of my head. At the same time I was working in a pub and the colourful characters and stories were enough inspiration for 10 artists.

  • The grey period: I left University sooner than I expected and had to start working as student loans don’t pay themselves (thanks dad for helping with that). But alas, I soon fell into the corporate grey and deadness. My creative spray dried up to an arid plain of profit and loss, sales numbers and bosses.
  • The green period: Then I joined my (soon-to-be-ex-company) and found that there can still be fun in business and (unfortunately for me) the big green monster which was our company drink- absinthe

As mentioned in my previous blogs, my induction to open source and the community was a rude awakening to the idea that there is more than one world out there with streams of thought and collective consciousness. This to me was about as important as my first ever History of Art lecture at University. In this milestone lecture, the Professor at the time told us to leave all our predispositions of religion, politics, social norms and everything we thought we knew about life at the door because what he was about to teach us would blow our minds and change the way we think about life as we know it. So what has this got to do with green you may ask in exasperation? Why, “elementary my dear Watson, elementary” I shall reply in a calm, knowing manner only infuriating your thirst for answers even more.

  1.  Colour- Green is a secondary Colour and a fusion of blue and yellow. I am a fusion of cultures and ideas so I tend to associate with it. Actually, I personally think it is an awesome colour and my 5 year old nephew tends to agree- so how can you argue
  2. Hippies and Tree Huggers- “green IT” and “greener lifestyles” is a big buzz at the moment with everyone trying to reduce their carbon footprint. But the hippies and tree-huggers had it right from the start and as “Conspiracy Keanu” put it….”What if the government is putting something in the shampoo to control our minds, and that’s why the people with the dirtiest hair have the most conspiracy theories” heheh

  3. Cape Town and Mystical Mountain (auras or healing vibes)- Like Shoowow! This speaks for itself.
  4. South Africa- One of the colours in the SA flag and I am proudly South African
  5. The incredible Hulk- “Don’t make me angry, you won’t like me when I’m angry”…Pretty much! Although I don’t own a pair of ripped purple pants and the only muscles I have are hidden deep below layers of comfort food- I still think he is pretty awesome!

So for now, my blood pumps green. Not with envy but with pride!

awesome-fully-natural-green-place-beautiful-hd-wallpapers

About Dance Like Derryn

I am a new mom, a 30-something year old female Trying to find my groove and balance in this manic life. I am trying to come to grips with life, parenthood, being a good partner, business, and why doughnuts are so damn delicious! Writing about general ramblings, things that amuse me and corporate musings. dancelikederryn.wordpress.com @DanceLikeDerryn https://za.linkedin.com/in/derrynaskham
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

